Come and discover a natural paradise in the Bierzo region.
The church collapsed and its place is now occupied by the village square with old and new olive trees, seats, a mine wagon, fountain and basketball court.
Once past Onamio you can see on the left the place known as the Era del Castro, from where the canals that ran along the hillside from the Castrillo River to the Castropodame mines -located to the northeast of Onamio- were watched. The Coto Wagner was denounced by Lazúrtegui in 1897-99 and he named it after the great musician. It began to be exploited in 1954 and was closed in 1983.
Onamio is a village already mentioned in deeds from the 10th century.
It was a royal place, with jurisdiction integrated in that of Ponferrada.
The iron was transported to Rande (Vigo estuary) and there it was shipped to Asturias and to a lesser extent to Germany, France, Belgium and the United Kingdom, until the steel crisis, the decline in demand and competition from cheaper and higher quality iron -this one had a high sulfur content- made the exploitation unsustainable.
Visit us and share an experience